When is Inauguration Day?

One of the most significant events in the U.S., Inauguration Day usually happens after the country’s presidential elections. This marks the start of a new term for whoever is elected on Election Day. This is usually a festive event where balls, speeches and parades are usually held to celebrate the office of the new president. Here’s a quick take on Inauguration Day and other important details pertaining to this all-important event.

The Inauguration of the U.S. President

When is Inauguration Day? Today, Inauguration Day is held on the 20th day of January after every U.S. Presidential Election. For instance, Barack Obama won the general election in 2008. After this impressive win, he was inaugurated on January 20th, 2009. However, this was not always the case. From 1798 to 1933, this special event was held on March 4th after every general election. When the Twentieth Amendment was ratified in 1933, the date was eventually changed. After that, the event is always held on January 20th following the general elections.

Other Relevant Details and Information

At some point in the history of the U.S., this special event transpired on the East Portico of the Capitol. This is especially true starting from President Martin Van Buren until the term of President Jimmy Carter. Meanwhile, the venue for this event changed starting from the presidency of Ronald Reagan in 1981. Instead of holding the event on the East Portico, it was then changed to the West Portico. At some point, this important activity was held indoors. This actually happened in 1909 to President William Howard Taft, while Reagan experienced it in 1985.

For such glorious event, there are certain individuals who are very much expected to attend. These include high-ranking military officials, justices of the U.S. Supreme Court and members of the U.S. Congress.

In addition to these, there are various elements present in this kind of ceremony. Among them, the oath of office is the most important. After the oath, the president can deliver the inaugural address. According to records, four former presidents did not deliver a speech after their oaths of office. They were Chester A. Arthur, Andrew Johnson, Millard Fillmore and John Tyler.

In addition to the speech, there are also certain religious elements for this event. Sometimes there are poetry readings. Meanwhile, certain individuals preferred musical works. For others, they incorporated at least two or more prayers in the event. To make the event more colorful and meaningful, newly elected presidents have added prayer services, parades and congressional luncheons.

Related Posts